Personal Strife and the Freelancer

« Even if you cry at your computer for six hours do at least one hour of work, that’s a start. »

Fangs and Clause

When my father died (this was years and years before I became a freelancer), my boss at my full-time job pulled me aside and told me to feel free to take a walk or a break during the day if I needed to. My coworkers let me walk around as a zombie for a while. But what do you do when something awful happens in your life and you work for yourself?

1. Cut yourself some slack

You just lost your mom, your grandmother, your boyfriend, your parrot, whatever. Give yourself a little time to grieve or be sad. Maybe you managed to edit 20 pages the first day you’re back to work after strife, but you’re used to editing 40. Be proud of yourself for getting any work done at all.

2. Get out of bed every morning

You can’t lose your shit completely or you will not have enough…

View original post 247 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

